DSLR astrophotography by Sergi Verdugo

The Coma cluster (Abell 1656)

Exposure: 10×400″ @ ISO 800
Lens: Newton TS 10″ f5 with ASA 0.73x Coma Corrector
Filter: Hutech IDAS LPS P2 MFA
Mount: Skywatcher EQ6 Pro
Camera: Cooled Canon 550D
Date: 20th Apr 2013
Location:El Montseny
This was the first light with the TS 10″ tube

The Coma Cluster (also known as Abell 1656) is a large cluster of galaxies composed of more than 1,000 identified galaxies, located in the constellation Coma Berenices, within a few degrees of the north galactic pole on the sky. Along with the Leo Cluster (Abell 1367), it is one of the two major clusters comprising the Coma Supercluster. Its ten brightest spiral galaxies have apparent magnitudes of 12-14. The central region is dominated by two supergiant elliptical galaxies: NGC 4874 and NGC 4889. The vast majority of the galaxies that lie in the central portion of the Coma Cluster are ellipticals, either dwarf or giant. The cluster’s mean distance from Earth is 99 Mpc (321 million light years).